Alternate Universe

I must live in an Alternate Universe where up is down and down is up.  The world where the sky is green and the grass is blue.  Why do I believe this to be true?  Because no matter what I do or how hard I work, it is overshadowed by the mere fact that he takes out the trash.  I can go out of my way and order him a personalized gift; does he mention it to anyone?  NO!  If he does so much as pick up a flower for me, he requires that I announce the occasion to anybody and everybody.

He will do a few minor tasks and expect to be praised as though he cured cancer!  I will spend HOURS tearing apart the bathroom linen closet, covered in sweat and get no response.  When I ask him to take a look at the closet, his response:  “Yeah, I see it”.

Why can’t he ever be positive towards me exclusively?  Today we are actually walking the dog together for a while and he looks at me and says, “I think you are losing weight” – I start to talk about the fact that I am trying BUT no way!  It is time to talk about him.

I had a gift custom-made for him and the reaction I get:  flat.

He takes out the trash and expects a marching band and an advertisement in the local paper.

What happened?  Who shook up my life, my snow globe??

Please leave your comments here:

